County Corner

Scholarships support deserving students

Demonstrating their unwavering commitment to New Jersey students after retirement, county REAs awarded dozens of scholarships to deserving graduates around the state.  Over the years, many public high school students have been able to take advantage of the generosity of scholarship awards presented by our county retired associations.  Below are some of the winners who received scholarships for the 2014-2015 school year:


Burlington County REA awarded Noelle Tripodi, a graduate of Northern Burlington Regional High School, the $2,000 Robert M. Oberholser Scholarship this spring.  Noelle plans to major in education at Ryder University this fall. 


The Hudson County REA awarded Angela Miceli, a graduate of Brick High School, the $1,000 Alan Edwards Scholarship this spring.  Angela plans to major in education at the College of New Jersey this fall. 


 Morris County REA Scholarship Winners
Many Morris County high school seniors were the lucky recipients of the 2014 MCREA scholarships this spring.

MCREA awarded a record 14 $2,000 scholarships for the 2014-2015 school year.  All recipients of the scholarships plan to or are currently majors in the field of education.  First-year recipients of this award include:  Michaela Kessinger (Boonton High School), Rebecca Kinsella (Watchung Hills Regional High School), Krista Mennella (Morris Knolls High School), Alex Nestor (Morris Hills High School), Christina Park (Montville High School), and Sarah Washington (Morristown High School).

Second-year recipients include: The College of New Jersey undergraduates Jenna Finnis, Erica Fromkin, and Marcia Schleppy; Belmont University undergraduate James Hatem; Boston College sophomore Megan Ryan; Caldwell College undergrad Alyssa Moi; Fairfield University undergraduate Katherine Davin; and Jenna Schreck, an undergraduate at William Paterson University.


Salem County REA awarded a one-year $1,000 scholarship to Salem High School graduate Olivia Harris. Olivia plans to attend Salem County Community College this fall.


The SCREA awarded two $1,000 scholarships to local seniors who plan to become educators.  Michele Lawrey, a Newton High School graduate, received the Warren B. Cummings award and plans to study education for the deaf.  Sean Gillen, a Vernon Township High School graduate, received the Fred Aug Memorial Scholarship award and is majoring in music education. 

Additionally, the SCREA presented two special one-year awards to former SCREA scholarship recipients.  Elizabeth Viersma and Kayleigh Russell each received a $1,500 Arlene Hartman Memorial Scholarship in honor of the late SCREA scholarship chairperson.