Student NJEA at TCNJ leadership awards

Published on Wednesday, May 2, 2012

 Student NJEA awards
The Excellence in Advocacy Award was one of two received by the Student NJEA chapter at TCNJ. From left: Director of Student Activities Tim Asher, incoming chapter co-presidents Rachel Goldberg and Amanda King, Student NJEA President and chapter president Andrew Lewis, and Student NJEA member Hannah Pawlack.  Pawlack was also recognized with the Harold W. Eickhoff Outstanding First-Year Student Award.
The Student NJEA chapter at The College of New Jersey was honored with two programming awards at the college’s Fifth Annual Student Leadership Awards banquet. Student NJEA President and TCNJ Chapter President Andrew Lewis was elected with five other student leaders to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

In addition, the college awarded a scholarship in the name of one of NJEA’s most revered past presidents. The scholarship dates back to 1923.

Excellence in Advocacy

Student NJEA at TCNJ won the Excellence in Advocacy Award for “Drop-Out Crisis: What Future Teachers Need to Know.”

The program was a joint initiative with Princeton University's Teacher Preparation Program and the Center for Future Educators at TCNJ. The program included a panel of speakers from TCNJ and Princeton University, the Trenton community, and high school drop-out students themselves. Among the issues discussed were how teachers could have prevented these students from dropping out and how the students’ lives have changed since leaving school

Outstanding New Program

Student NJEA at TCNJ won the Outstanding New Program Award for its Anti-Bullying Week activities. The purpose of this Student NJEA program at TCNJ was to draw attention to National Anti-Bullying Week and the new Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Law in New Jersey.

Students built a paper chain of pledges, pledging that their future classroom will be bully free. The week also included speaker Matthew Purinton, who was bullied in school because of a disability that left him without arms and in a wheelchair.

“Matthew's message was strong as he spoke about how one his teachers saved his life, but also of a friend of his who was ignored and committed suicide,” Lewis said.

Who’s Who

Lewis, for his numerous activities on campus as well as his statewide leadership of Student NJEA, was selected for “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.”

The Elizabeth Allen Scholarship

 Student NJEA win awards
TCNJ junior Molly Moltane (r) received the Elizabeth Allen Scholarship Award. The scholarship is named for one of NJEA’s most revered past presidents. With Moltane is Interim Provost Dr. Susan Bakewell-Sachs.
TCNJ junior Molly Moltane was awarded the Elizabeth Allen 1869 Scholarship Award.

The scholarship honors Elizabeth A. Allen, NJEA’s first woman president. Allen was an 1869 graduate of the New Jersey State Normal School at Trenton (now TCNJ) who was instrumental in the establishment of the Teachers Retirement Fund and Tenure of Office Act.

The scholarship was first awarded in 1923 through a fund established by the N.J. Society of Retired Teachers. It is awarded to student “who demonstrates high scholarship, commitment to education, and value to the College.”

Moltane, a 2009 graduate of Pompton Lakes High School, majors in special education and MST (math, science, and technology). She is active in numerous campus activities, particularly those that relate to her future in the teaching profession.

Moltane also won the scholarship in 2011 and this January met Charles Clemens, a distant relative of Elizabeth Allen.

Bookmark and Share