Science teachers selected for national teacher academy

Published on Tuesday, February 5, 2013

 Denise Kuehner
 Denise Kuehner
Three NJEA members are among the 244 science teachers chosen nation­wide as fellows in the 2012–13 National Science Teachers Associa­tion (NSTA) New Science Teacher Academy. The fellows will participate in a year-long professional development program designed to help promote quality science teaching, en­hance teacher confidence and classroom excellence and improve teacher content knowledge. They are:

  • Patricia Bodak, Dunellen High School, Dunellen
  • Denise Kuehner, Fort Lee High School, Fort Lee
  • Mary Howard, Washington Township High School, Sewell

Teachers were selected on the basis of several criteria, including showing evidence of a solid science background and displaying a strong interest in growing as a professional science educator. Each fellow will receive a comprehensive NSTA membership package, online mentoring with trained mentors who teach in the same discipline, and the opportunity to participate in a variety of web-based professional development activities, including web seminars. In addition, each fellow will receive financial support to attend and participate in NSTA’s 2013 national conference in San Antonio.

Launched during the spring of 2007, the NSTA New Science Teacher Academy was established to help reduce the high attrition rate in the science teaching pro­fession by providing professional develop­ment and mentoring support to early-ca­reer science teachers. Since its inception, the Academy has provided high-quality professional development to more than 800 science teachers nationwide.

To learn more about the NSTA New Science Teacher Academy, visit

Bookmark and Share