17 New Jersey teachers are quarter finalists for GRAMMY foundation’s music educator award

Published on Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Grammy FoundationThe Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Foundation have announced the quarter finalists for the first ever Music Educator Award and 17 New Jersey teachers are included!

A total of 217 music teachers from 195 cities across 45 states have been announced as quarterfinalists for the Music Educator Award presented by The Recording Academy® and the GRAMMY Foundation®.

More than 30,000 initial nominations were submitted from all 50 states.

New Jersey’s 17 quarter finalists are:

  • Carol Beadle, Liberty Corner Elementary School, Bernards Township
  • Andrew DeNicola, John P. Stevens High School, Edison
  • Cynthia Feeney, Ironia Elementary School, Randolph
  • John Gillick, Terrill Middle School, Scotch Plains
  • Jeffrey Haas, Ridgewood High School, Ridgewood
  • Keith Hodgson, Mainland Regional High School, Linwood
  • Barbara Klemp, Chatham High School, Chatham
  • Mark Kraft, South Brunswick High School, South Brunswick
  • Spencer Lau, Woodruff Middle School, Upper Deerfield
  • Eva Diane Lyle-Smith, Dr. Brimm Medical Arts High School, Camden
  • Donna Mateyka, West Essex Regional High School, Caldwell
  • Regina McAllen, Howell High School, Freehold Regional
  • Brian McLaughlin, West Milford High School, West Millford
  • Todd Nichols, Roxbury High School, Roxbury Township
  • Kenneth Piascik, Black River Middle School, Chester Township
  • Juan Pineda, Academy for Performing Arts, Scotch Plains
  • Eric Schaberg, Randolph High School, Randolph

The Music Educator Award was established to recognize current educators (Kindergarten-college, public and private schools) who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools.

A joint partnership and presentation of The Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Foundation, this special award will have its inaugural presentation at the Special Merit Awards Ceremony and Nominees Reception honoring recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Trustee Award, Technical GRAMMY® Award during GRAMMY Week 2014.

As announced on the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards® by President/CEO of The Recording Academy and GRAMMY Foundation Neil Portnow, TV and radio host/producer and GRAMMY Foundation Honorary Board Chair Ryan Seacrest, and six-time GRAMMY® winner Justin Timberlake, the award was open to current United States music teachers, and anyone could nominate a teacher—students, parents, friends, colleagues, community members, school deans, and administrators.

Teachers were also able to nominate themselves, and nominated teachers were notified and invited to fill out an application.

One recipient will be selected from 10 finalists each year, and will be recognized for his or her remarkable impact on students' lives. The winner will be flown to Los Angeles to accept the award, attend the GRAMMY Awards ceremony, and receive a $10,000 honorarium. The nine finalists will receive a $1,000 honorarium, and the schools of all 10 finalists also will receive matching grants.

The honorariums and grants provided to the finalists and schools are made possible by the generosity and support of the GRAMMY Foundation's Education Champions: Converse, Ford Motor Company Fund, General Mills Box Tops For Education, and Journeys.

A complete list of quarterfinalists is below. The semifinalists will be announced in August. For more information visit, www.grammymusicteacher.com.

Bookmark and Share