NJEA is proud to join with students, school employees, parents and others in congratulating the 2019-20 New Jersey County Teachers of the Year.

“What an achievement to be named one of our County Teachers of the Year, and one that recognizes not the accomplishments as a cumulative, but as a promise of continued dedication to a profession, that is as much a calling as a career,” said NJEA President Marie Blistan.

“This incredible honor recognizes the work of our amazing educators and the impact they have on our students and communities,” said NJEA Vice President Sean M. Spiller. “They are the face of public education, and the personal face that students, parents and communities can identify with.”

“It is no wonder that New Jersey is number two in the nation when we have such quality educators represented here by our County Teachers of the Year. They have chosen to serve in this most honorable profession of teaching our students, and I am so proud,” said NJEA Secretary-Treasurer Steve Beatty.


Leslie Kronemeyer, a high school Spanish teacher at Mainland Regional High School in the Mainland Regional High School District.


Leah Jerome, a high school Social Studies teacher at Pascack Valley High School in the Pascack Valley High School District.


Michelle-Anne Spring, a fourth-grade teacher at Hawthorne Park Elementary School in the Willingboro School District.


Kimberly Dickstein, a high school English teacher at Haddonfield Memorial High School in the Haddonfield School District.

Cape May

Thomas Belasco, a high school English teacher at Lower Cape May Regional High School in the Lower Cape May Regional School District.


Amanda McCloskey, a sixth- and eighth-grade Mathematics teacher at West Avenue School in the Bridgeton School District.


Yanelis Cabaleiro, a PreK special education teacher at School #3 in the Belleville School District.


Brittany Mason, a high school Social Studies teacher at Washington Township High School in the Washington Township School District.


Martha Garcia, a sixth-eighth grade Art teacher at Academy 1 Middle School in the Jersey City School District.


Therese Squicciarini, a seventh-grade special education teacher at J.P. Case Middle School in the Flemington-Raritan School District.


Helen Corveleyn, an elementary STEM teacher at Hopewell Elementary School in the Hopewell Valley Regional School District.


Jennifer Olawski, an elementary health and physical education teacher at Livingston Elementary School in the New Brunswick School District.


Elizabeth English, a high school English teacher at Freehold Township High School in the Freehold Regional High School District.


Sarah Guza, an eighth-grade Mathematics teacher at Lincoln Park Middle School in the Lincoln Park School District.


Kelly Cerbone, a seventh-grade Mathematics and Science teacher at Lake Riviera Middle School in the Brick School District.


Patrick Slater, a high school technology education teacher at Wayne Valley High School in the Wayne School District.


Tracy Demarest, a PreK-Kindergarten special education teacher at William Roper School in the Woodstown Pilesgrove School District.


Suzanne Updegrove, a middle school gifted and talented teacher at the Branchburg Central Middle School in the Branchburg School District.


Jennifer Caputo, a fifth-grade elementary teacher at Helen Morgan Elementary School in the Sparta Township School District.


Brian Lowe, a fifth-grade elementary teacher at Valley Road Elementary School in the Clark School District.


Debra Koch, a high school family consumer science teacher at Belvidere High School in the Belvidere School District.

Related Articles

Send this to a friend