Barbara Rheault of Mullica Township (Atlantic Co.) has been elected to a three-year term as a New Jersey director to the National Education Association (NEA) Board of Directors by NJEA’s policy-making Delegate Assembly (D.A.).

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the NEA director elections were conducted through mail balloting with D.A. members from April 21 to May 5. (The original anticipated election dates were delayed.) Under the D.A. rules, a candidate for NEA director must receive more than 50% of the valid ballots cast to be elected.

Rheault received 52.86% of the 70 ballots cast to win one of three seats available for which terms start Sept. 1.

Five candidates were nominated as candidates for the three available seats. Besides Rheault, they were (in alphabetical order): Theresa Fuller of North Plainfield (Somerset Co.), Laurie Gibson-Parker of Cherry Hill (Camden Co.), Robert LaMorte of Wyckoff Twp. (Bergen Co.), and Stacy Yanko of Hopatcong (Sussex Co.).

The election results were as follows:

  • Barbara Rheault – 37 votes (52.86%)
  • Robert LaMorte – 35 votes (50%)
  • Laurie Gibson-Parker – 30 votes (42.86%)
  • Stacy Yanko – 26 votes (37.14%)
  • Theresa Fuller – 20 votes (28.57%)

Under the D.A. rules, if insufficient numbers of candidates receive more than 50% of the votes cast to win election to the open seats, a runoff election is held with the lowest vote-getter’s name from the prior balloting dropped from the ballot. The process is repeated until the seats are filled by candidates who receive more than 50% of the valid ballots cast by D.A. members.

Since no other candidate besides Rheault received more than 50% of the votes, a mail runoff election will be held between May 7 and 21.  Gibson-Parker, LaMorte, and Yanko will appear on that ballot.

Ballots must be received by the elections vendor by May 21. D.A. members are urged to vote and mail their completed ballots immediately after receiving them.

If a second runoff is required, ballots will be sent out to D.A. members on May 24 and will be due back by June 7.

New Jersey holds nine state seats on the NEA Board of Directors.

Related Articles

Send this to a friend