Record member engagement fuels success statewide

Phil Murphy’s convincing win in the gubernatorial election highlighted a successful night for NJEA’s endorsed candidates. While not all results are yet reported, a clear majority of NJEA’s endorsed legislative candidates were victorious, helping to ensure a pro-public education majority in the next legislative session.  While NJEA-endorsed candidate Fran Grenier fell short in his race against incumbent Senate President Steve Sweeney, his insurgent campaign electrified New Jersey politics and energized NJEA members, who remain determined to endorse and campaign for pro-public education candidates regardless of party affiliation.

NJEA President Marie Blistan highlighted the effect that NJEA members had on the 2017 election.  “From last October, when our members made an unprecedented early endorsement in the gubernatorial election, until the closing minutes of the election tonight, our members showed that they are willing and able to stand up for what they believe in. I could not be prouder of the effort that we made on behalf of all of our endorsed candidates. By working tirelessly for over a year to elect Phil Murphy, we have guaranteed a new direction for New Jersey after eight years of failed leadership. By standing with our allies in the Legislature, we have maintained a strong foundation for the next legislative session.  And by taking on difficult fights that forced us to stand firm for what we believe in, we showed New Jersey that we will not back down when our values are at stake.”

NJEA Vice President Sean M. Spiller echoed Blistan’s sentiments. “We set out to make a difference in this election, and thanks to our members, we did. Our members know that standing for what’s right isn’t always easy, but it is always important. This election reminded everyone in New Jersey that we are willing to do that. Our members proved in this election that they have what it takes to stay involved for the long haul, and that’s exactly what we are going to do. This is just the beginning.”

NJEA Secretary-Treasurer Steve Beatty looked to the future.  “We are excited to work with the Murphy administration and the incoming legislature to finally start moving New Jersey forward. In politics, elections are just the beginning. What comes next is even more important: we will hold our elected officials accountable for their votes. We will continue to advocate for our values and work to strengthen our public schools.”

County, Municipal & Board of Education Races

Asterisks (*) denote NJEA members, winners are listed in bold.

Atlantic County
Tony DiPietro*, Melissa Tomlinson*, Ashley Bennett for Freeholder; Frank Santo, Robert Maldonado, Frank Gargione, Don Purdy for Galloway Council; Barbara Rheault*, Leanna Mullen for Mullica Twp Committee

Bergen County
James Bayley* for Emerson Council; Lynda Zaccone* for Mahwah BOE; David Bradler* for Park Ridge BOE; Keith Misciagna for Park Ridge Mayor; Tom Farinaro, Michael Mintz for Park Ridge Council

Burlington County
Tom Pullion, Balvir Singh* for Freeholder

Cape May County
Frank Toth* for Middle Twp Committee

Cumberland County
Victoria Lods*, Kevin Smaniotto for Freeholder; Ruth Bareiro, Tracey Huggins, Bonnie Henderson-Martin for Vineland BOE; Vote NO on Millville School Question

Essex County
Brendan Gill, Patricia Sebold, Rufus Johnson, Leonard Luciano, Britnee Timberlake, Carlos Pomares, Wayne Richardson for Freeholder; Michael Sheldon for Belleville BOE

Gloucester County
Heather Flaim*, Leah Vassallo, Eric Bernard for Franklin Twp Committee

Hudson County
Amy DeGise, Lorenzo Richardson, Gerald Lyons*, Mussab Ali for BOE

Middlesex County
Shanti Narra, Leslie Koppel for Freeholder; Keith Hahn for Edison Mayor; Carol Bodofsky, Elizabeth Conway*, Beth Moroney, William Araujo for Edison BOE; Shantell Cherry, Alexandra Lopez, Tom Connors for Piscataway BOE; Amil Patel, Deven Patel for South Brunswick BOE

Monmouth County
Pat Impreveduto, Margie Donlon for Freeholder

Morris County
Nancy Helbourg*
for Rockaway Twp BOE

Ocean County
Ginny Rhine, Al Schwartz, Teri Kubiel for Toms River BOE

Passaic County
Assad Akhter, Bruce James, Lori Mambelli for Freeholder; Frank Caraccio, Mohammad Hussain for Prospect Park BOE; Donald Pavlak, Sean Duffy for Wayne BOE

Salem County
Bob Vanderslice, Jesse Stemberger* for Freeholder

Sussex County
Dan Perez for Freeholder

Union County
Susan Poage* for Berkeley Heights Council

Related Articles

Send this to a friend