Throughout the years, many of New Jersey’s public high school students have been the beneficiaries of the generous scholarship awards presented by NJREA’s county retired associations. Below are some of the winners who received scholarships for the 2018-19 school year.


Burlington County REA awarded Danielle Berson, a graduate of Shawnee High School, the $3,500 Robert M. Oberholser Scholarship and Rebekah Allen, a graduate from Palmyra High School, the $2,000 Harriet DiLeonardo Scholarship in the spring. Danielle and Rebekah both plan to major in education at The College of New Jersey and Rowan College at Burlington County respectively this fall.


CCREA awarded Millville Senior High School graduate Julia Terry a $1,000 scholarship this spring. Julia plans to attend the University of Maryland, where she will major in music education this fall.


ECREA awarded four $1,500 scholarships earlier this year. Aishwarya Kanagala, a West Orange High School graduate, will attend Rutgers University, majoring in business analysis and information technology. Noah Roselli, a Nutley High School graduate, will attend the New Jersey Institute of Technology, majoring in astrophysics. Marlon Atari Solomon, a graduate of the Cicely Tyson Community School of Performing Arts, will attend Berklee College of Music, majoring in music business and economics. Chantaly Villalona, a Newark Technology High School graduate, will attend Wellesley College, majoring in computer science and economics.


MCREA awarded seven $1,500 scholarships to local high school seniors this year. Gabriella Beam, a Freehold Regional High School graduate, will attend Auburn University. Jennifer Grasso, a South Plainfield High School graduate, will attend Florida Gulf Coast University. Robin Hill, a West Deptford High School graduate, will attend Elizabeth College. South Amboy High School graduate Kaleigh Keegan will attend Monmouth University, while Haddonfield Memorial High School graduate Jamie Kelly will attend The College of New Jersey. Not to be outdone, Franklin Township High School graduate Jadon Melecio will attend Rutgers Honor College this fall, and Union High School graduate Thomas Novak will attend the Illinois Institute of Technology.


Morris County REA again awarded fifteen $2,000 scholarships for the 2018-19 school year. All recipients of the scholarships plan to study or are currently majors in the field of education. First-year recipients of this award include: Jocelyn Barmore (Roxbury High School), Kate Bernauer (Parsippany-Troy Hills High School), Liam Dugan, Hayley Graybush, and Elizabeth Vex (Morris Knolls High School), Margaret Harmon (West Morris High School), and Jamie Ingling (Morris Hills High School).

Second-year recipients include: Laura Boysen (SUNY at Geneseo), Kelly Edwards (Vanderbilt), Lucas Folan (Hofstra University), Allison Furman (Rider University), Lauren Measley and Heather Santiago (The College of New Jersey), Julia Nixon (Rutgers University), and Elizabeth Pichowicz (University of Maryland).


OCREA awarded four $1,000 scholarships to seniors who plan to major in education this fall. Recipients include Brick Township High School graduate Madison Baracia and Toms River South High School graduate Kerri Kroon, both of whom will attend Ocean County College; Ashley Goetz, a New Egypt High School graduate who will attend Georgian Court University; and Point Pleasant Beach High School graduate Kylee Kells, who will attend Villanova University.


PCREA also awarded future education majors. Lakeland Regional High School graduates Cassandra Caporusso and Monica Weglarz, as well as West Milford Township High School graduate Riley Babbit, were each provided $1,000. Weglarz plans to attend the New Jersey Institute of Technology this fall.

Related Articles

Send this to a friend