Delegate Assembly elects NEA Directors

Susan McBride of Bergen County was reelected for a second three-year term as an NEA State Director to the NEA Board of Directors at the March 19 meeting of the NJEA Delegate Assembly (D.A.). Stacy Yanko of Sussex County and Christopher Cannella of Essex County were elected to their first terms. 

Temika Langston-Hughes of Cumberland County was elected as an NEA Director-alternate. 

The NEA Board of Directors is responsible for setting general policies between annual NEA Representative Assembly (NEA RA) meetings. It consists of one director from each state affiliate, at-large directors to meet representational guarantees, and representatives for students and retired members. Each state is entitled to an additional director for every 20,000 active and life members. 

NJEA has nine NEA State Directors who serve three-year terms. Typically, an election is held for three of New Jersey’s seats on the board every March. In addition, Ashanti Rankin of Cumberland County is in his second term as an NEA Director in an ESP-at-large position. At-large positions are elected at the NEA RA by delegates from across the nation. Langston-Myers is also currently serving out an unexpired ESP-at-large term on the NEA Board of Directors to which she was appointed by NEA President Becky Pringle. 

Delegates also approved the affiliation of a new local association: the Bloomingdale Paraprofessionals Education Association.