Two-thirds of counties in New Jersey saw endorsements made by county and local associations, as NJEA continues to encourage our local leaders to get involved in local elections. Notable victories include a successful election to return Camden City Board of Education to a voter-elected board, a clean sweep for endorsed board of education candidates in Jersey City, and the election of at least seven endorsed NJEA members to county and local offices.

Members on the ballot

In races across New Jersey, NJEA members sought election to offices at all levels of government. Two hundred and seventy-three NJEA members were on the ballot on Tuesday, running for county freeholder, mayor and other municipal offices, as well as board of education. At press time, the results of those elections were not yet official, but all members who choose to involve themselves in this important process are to be commended, and NJEA encourages members to continue to run for offices in their communities.


Asterisks (*) denote NJEA members, winners are listed in bold


Atlantic County

Frank Formica for Freeholder At-Large; Maureen Kern or Maureen Leidy for Freeholder District 2; Barbara Rheault* for Freeholder District 5;

Richard Norris*, Sharnell Morgan, Jerome Page for Pleasantville BOE


Bergen County

Jim Tedesco for County Executive; Steve Tanelli, Tracy Zur for Freeholder; David Bradler* for Park Ridge BOE; Matthew Capilli*, John Ferguson for Park Ridge Council


Burlington County

Felicia Hopson for Freeholder


Camden County

Vote NO on Camden School Board Proposal


Cape May County

Jeffrey DeVico for Middle Twp Committee


Cumberland County

James Quinn, Joseph Derella for Freeholder


Essex County

Joseph DiVincenzo for County Executive; Nelson Barrera for Belleville BOE; Jeremias Salinas*, Terry Trigg-Scales* for West Orange BOE


Hudson County

Marilyn Roman, Joan Terrell-Paige, Mussab Ali for Jersey City BOE


Middlesex County

Shanti Narra, Ron Rios for Freeholder; Ira Stern, Isaac Peng, Atif Nazir for Piscataway BOE; Carrie Kenny*, Tom Biesiada, Bhumi Patel for Sayreville BOE; Lisa Rodgers, Mike Mitchell* for South Brunswick BOE; Sandra Doyon* for South Plainfield Mayor; Kristine Keefe*, Sherri Zwerko for South Plainfield Council; Susan Bourdin, Ezio Tamburello, Daniel Harris for Woodbridge BOE


Monmouth County

Larry Luttrell or Gerry Scharfenberger for Freeholder


Morris County

Michael Puzio for Rockaway Twp Mayor


Ocean County

Christopher McManus, Brett Novick* for Stafford Board of Education; Christopher Raimann, Jennifer Howe for Toms River BOE; Anna Polozzo for Toms River BOE (South Toms River)


Passaic County

Danielle Ireland-Imhof for County Clerk; Assad Akhter, John Bartlett, Cassandra Lazzara* for Freeholder; Vincent Arrington, Oshin Castillo, Eddy Pichardo, Manuel Martinez, Nakima Redmon for Paterson BOE; Eileen Albanese, Brian Quintavella, Stacey Scher* for Wayne BOE


Salem County

Jesse Stemberger*, Ben Laury for Freeholder; Charles Miller for Sheriff


Union County

Al Mirabella, Rebecca Williams*, Kim Mouded, Andrea Staten for Freeholder; Charlene Bathelus, Iliana Chevres, Stephanie Goncalves for Elizabeth BOE; Laquana Best, Pinchas Shapiro, Dennis Kobitz, Kimberly Cook, Joel Chapman for Hillside BOE; Rebecca Coniglio for New Providence BOE; Melba Mullins*, Rebecca Perkins, Timothy Priano for Plainfield BOE

Related Articles

Send this to a friend