NJEA is proud to join with students, school employees, parents and others in congratulating the 2020-21 New Jersey County Teachers of the Year. View award ceremony

“Our schools rank number one in the nation because of the amazing caliber of educators that our county teachers of the year represent. This achievement recognizes their dedication and success working with our students, a title well-earned and well-deserved,” said NJEA President Marie Blistan.

“This honor recognizes the positive impact that each of these teachers has on our students and their communities. They are involved beyond their classrooms and are key to the changes we want to applaud,” stated NJEA Vice President Sean M. Spiller.

“These amazing individuals have chosen to serve our communities in one of the most honorable professions. They are true representatives of the quality educators we have working in our great public schools,” said NJEA Secretary-Treasurer Steve Beatty.


Phillip Pallitto, a fifth- and sixth-grade English language arts teacher and arts integration specialist at Jordan Road School in the Somers Point School District.


Megan Williams, a high school French teacher at Tenafly High School in the Tenafly School District.


Michael Dunlea, a third-grade teacher at Tabernacle Elementary School in the Tabernacle Township School District.


Angel Santiago, a fifth-grade teacher at Loring Flemming Elementary School in the Gloucester Township School District.

 Cape May

Rachel Krementz, a teacher of special education in the fifth and sixth grades at Ocean Academy in Cape May County Special Services.


Kristina Messina, a teacher of grades K-5 at Mount Pleasant Elementary School in the Millville School District.


David Coster, a teacher of math and technology at Cedar Grove High School in the Cedar Grove School District.


Jami Centrella, an elementary-level teacher of English language arts at Caroline L. Reutter School in the Township of Franklin Public Schools.


Alicia Vilas, a fourth-grade teacher at Dr. Maya Angelou Elementary School (PS #20) in the Jersey City School District.


Angela Mikula, an arts education specialist at the Delaware Township School in the Delaware Township School District.


Jessica Merz, a teacher of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and a teacher of American Sign Language at the Marie H. Katzenbach School for the Deaf, located in Trenton.


Jaclyn Terebetski, a teacher of business and technology at Carteret High School in the Carteret School District.


Christina Gauss, a high school Spanish teacher at Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School in the Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School District.


Christopher Butchko, a teacher of Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Montville Township High School in the Montville Township School District.


Lucia Giavatto-DiLeo, a teacher of Spanish and French at Manchester Township High School in the Manchester Township School District.


Megan Graziano, a teacher of biological sciences at Clifton High School in the Clifton School District.


Michelle Williams, a teacher of biological sciences and Advanced Placement Environmental Science at Woodstown High School in the Woodstown-Pilesgrove School District.


Micki Cobos, a teacher of English as a second language (ESL) at Somerville High School in the Somerville School District.


Meghan Radimer, a teacher of physical education and health at Stillwater Township School in the Stillwater School District.


Jamie Warner, a teacher of social studies at Orange Avenue School in the Cranford School District.


Courtney Kopf, a teacher of life sciences and the anti-bullying specialist at Belvidere High School in the Belvidere School District.

County Teachers of the Year are encouraged to apply for the New Jersey State Teacher of the Year recognition. The New Jersey Teacher of the Year Program and the Governor’s Teacher/Educational Services Professionals Recognition Program have been integrated into the Governor’s Educator of the Year Program.  This updated program highlights educational innovation, student achievement, the rewards of teaching, and important services outside the classroom environment that lead to student success.  The educator chosen for this recognition are named at the New Jersey State Board of Education meeting in October. The 2019-2020 recipient is Kimberly Dickstein Hughes, she teaches English Language Arts at Haddonfield Memorial High School in Camden County.

Related Articles

Teaching goal-setting  in a challenging time By Meghan Radimer As an elementary physical education and...

Send this to a friend