Brenda Brathwaite of Atlantic County has been elected as a New Jersey director to the National Education Association Board of Directors by NJEA’s policy-making Delegate Assembly.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the NEA director elections were conducted through mail balloting with D.A. members from May 22 to June 5.  Under the D.A. rules, a candidate for NEA director must receive more than 50% of the valid ballots cast in order to be elected.

Brathwaite received 60.76% of the 79 ballots cast to win a seat.

Seven candidates were nominated as candidates for the three available seats.  Besides Brathwaite, they were (listed in alphabetical order): Anita Kober, Carolyn McKinney-Croix, Peter Moran, Michael Morton, Chrystal Parr-Allen, and Barbara Rheault.

The election results were as follows:

          Brenda Brathwaite – 48 votes (60.76%)

          Anita Kober – 38 votes (48.10%)

          Barbara Rheault – 38 votes (48.10%)

          Peter Moran – 34 votes (43.04%)

          Michael Morton – 24 votes (30.38%)

          Carolyn McKinney-Croix – 13 votes (16.46%)

          Chrystal Parr-Allen – 13 votes (16.46%)

Since no other candidate besides Brathwaite received more than 50% of the votes, a runoff mail election will be held between June 9 and June 23.  Ballots must be received by the elections vendor by June 23. Delegate Assembly members are urged to vote and mail their completed ballots immediately after receiving them.

Under the D.A. rules, the lowest vote getter is dropped from the subsequent ballot.  Because McKinney-Croix and Parr-Allen tied in receiving the lowest numbers, both names will be dropped from the runoff ballot.  The remaining candidates – Kober, Moran, Morton, and Rheault — will appear on the runoff ballot.

If two candidates do not receive more than 50% of the votes in the runoff, Delegate Assembly members will receive a second runoff election ballot, with balloting set between June 29 and July 13.

Related Articles

Send this to a friend