NJEA PAC endorses 95 candidates for Nov. 7 election 

78 Democrats and 17 Republicans endorsed for Legislature 

NJEA’s 125-member political action committee has voted to endorse 95 legislative candidates for election this Nov. 7. Those endorsements include 29 Senate candidates and 66 Assembly candidates, with 78 endorsements for Democratic candidates and 17 for Republican candidates.  

NJEA PAC voted on the recommendations of local interview teams from each legislative district (LD). There were no endorsements in LDs 23, 24, 26 and 29 

The complete list of endorsements are: 

  • LD 1: Erik Simonsen (R) for Assembly
  • LD 2: Vincent J. Polistina (R) for Senate and Donald A. Guardian (R) for Assembly; Claire Swift (R) and Alphonso Harrell (D) are Your Choice Assembly candidates
  • LD 3: John J. Burzichelli (D) for Senate and Heather Simmons (D) and Dave Bailey (D) for Assembly
  • LD 4: Paul D. Moriarty (D) for Senate and Cody Miller (D) and Dan Hutchison (D) for Assembly
  • LD 5: Nilsa I. Cruz-Perez (D) for Senate and William W. Spearman (D) and William F. Moen Jr. (D) for Assembly
  • LD 6: James Beach (D) for Senate and Pamela R. Lampitt (D) and Louis D. Greenwald (D) for Assembly
  • LD 7: Troy Singleton (D) for Senate and Herb Conaway Jr. (D) and Carol A. Murphy (D) for Assembly
  • LD 8: Latham Tiver (R) for Senate and Anthony Angelozzi (D) and Brandon E. Umba (R) for Assembly
  • LD 9: Brian E. Rumpf (R) for Assembly
  • LD 10: Emma Mammano (D) for Assembly
  • LD 11: Vin Gopal (D) for Senate and Margie Donlon (D) and Luanne Peterpaul (D) for Assembly
  • LD 12: Robert D. Clifton (R) and Alex Sauickie (R) for Assembly
  • LD 13: Victoria A. Flynn (R) and Paul Eschelbach (D) for Assembly
  • LD 14: Linda R. Greenstein (D) for Senate and Wayne P. DeAngelo (D) and Tennille McCoy (D) for Assembly
  • LD 15: Shirley K. Turner (D) for Senate and Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D) and Anthony S. Verrelli (D) for Assembly
  • LD 16: Andrew Zwicker (D) for Senate and Roy Freiman (D) and Mitchelle Drulis (D) for Assembly
  • LD 17: Bob Smith (D) for Senate and Joe Danielsen (D) for Assembly
  • LD 18: Patrick J. Diegnan Jr. (D) for Senate Robert J. Karabinchak (D) and Sterley S. Stanley (D) for Assembly
  • LD 19: Joseph F. Vitale (D) for Senate Craig J. Coughlin (D) and Yvonne Lopez (D) for Assembly
  • LD 20: Joseph P. Cryan (D) for Senate and Annette Quijano (D) and Reginald W. Atkins (D) for Assembly
  • LD 21: Jon M. Bramnick (R) for Senate and Michele Matsikoudis (R) for Assembly; Elizabeth Graner (D) and Nancy F. Munoz (R) are Your Choice Assembly candidates
  • LD 22: Nicholas P. Scutari (D) for Senate and Linda S. Carter (D) and James J. Kennedy (D) for Assembly
  • LD 23: No Endorsements
  • LD 24: No Endorsements
  • LD 25: Anthony M. Bucco (R) for Senate and Aura K. Dunn (R) for Assembly
  • LD 27: John F. McKeon (D) for Senate and Alixon Collazos-Gill (D) and Rosy Bagolie (D) for Assembly
  • LD 28: Renee C. Burgess (D) for Senate and Cleopatra G. Tucker (D) and Garnet R. Hall (D) for Assembly
  • LD 29: No Endorsements
  • LD 30: Pending
  • LD 31: Angela V. McKnight (D) for Senate and Barbara McCann Stamato (D) and William B. Sampson IV (D) for Assembly
  • LD 32: Raj Mukherji (D) for Senate and John Allen (D) and Jessica Ramirez (D) for Assembly
  • LD 33: Brian P. Stack (D) for Senate and Gabriel Rodriguez (D) and Julio Marenco (D) for Assembly
  • LD 34: Britnee N. Timberlake (D) for Senate and Carmen Morales (D) and Michael Venezia (D) for Assembly
  • LD 35: Nellie Pou (D) for Senate and Benjie Wimberly (D) and Shavonda E. Sumter (D) for Assembly
  • LD 36: Paul A. Sarlo (D) for Senate and Gary S. Schaer (D) and Clinton Calabrese (D) for Assembly
  • LD 37: Gordon M. Johnson (D) for Senate and Ellen J. Park (D) and Shama A. Haider (D) for Assembly
  • LD 38: Joseph A. Lagana (D) for Senate and P. Christopher Tully (D) and Lisa Swain (D) for Assembly
  • LD 39: Jodi Murphy (D) for Senate and John Vitale (D) and Damon Englese (D) for Assembly
  • LD 40: Kristin M. Corrado (R) for Senate and Christopher P. DePhillips (R) and Al Barlas (R) for Assembly

Important election dates

Oct. 17
Voter registration deadline for general election 

Online registration and printable registrations forms can be found at vote.nj.gov. Not sure if you’re already registered? Visit vote.nj.gov to find out. 

Oct. 28-Nov. 5 
Early voting period 

This new option enables all registered voters to cast their ballot in person, using a voting machine, during in-person early voting period prior to Election Day. Find your county’s early voting locations at vote.nj.gov. 

Oct. 31 
Deadline to apply for a mail-in ballot by mail for general election 

For a vote-by-mail application, go to vote.nj.gov. Complete and mail the application as early as possible, ideally well before Nov. 1. 

Nov. 6 – by 3 p.m. 
Deadline for in-person mail-in ballot applications for general election 

Visit vote.nj.gov for details on how to apply in person for a vote-by-mail ballot. 

Nov. 7 
General election 

To find your polling location check the sample ballot you received from your county board of elections or visit vote.nj.gov. This is also the deadline by which the post office must receive mail-in ballots for the general election. It is also the deadline for in-person submission of general election mail-in ballots to county boards of election.