84 Democrats and 13 Republicans endorsed for Legislature

NJEA’s 125-member political action committee has voted to endorse Gov. Phil Murphy as well as 97 legislative candidates for election this November. Those endorsements include 31 Senate candidates and 66 Assembly candidates. Eighty-four endorsements were for Democratic candidates and 13 were for Republican candidates.

“In 2017, NJEA members endorsed Gov. Phil Murphy on the basis of his promises and his progressive vision for public education,” said NJEA President Sean M. Spiller. “This year, he earned our endorsement on the basis of his outstanding record as governor.”

NJEA PAC voted on the recommendations of local interview teams from each legislative district (LD). The complete list of endorsements are:

• LD 1: John Capizola Jr. (D) and Erik Simonsen (R) for Assembly

• LD 2: Vince Mazzeo (D) for Senate and John Armato (D) and Caren Fitzpatrick (D) for Assembly

• LD 3: Stephen Sweeney (D) for Senate and John Burzichelli (D) and Adam Taliaferro (D) for Assembly

• LD 4: Fred H. Madden (D) for Senate and Paul Moriarty (D) and Gabriela Mosquera (D) for Assembly

• LD 5: Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D) for Senate and William Spearman (D) and William Moen (D) for Assembly

• LD 6: James Beach (D) for Senate and Louis Greenwald (D) and Pamela Lampitt (D) for Assembly

• LD 7: Troy Singleton (D) for Senate and Herb Conaway (D) and Carol A. Murphy (D) for Assembly

• LD 10: Emma Mammano (D) for Senate and Gregory P. McGuckin (R) for Assembly

• LD 11: Vin Gopal (D) for Senate and Joann Downey (D) and Eric Houghtaling (D) for Assembly

• LD 12: Ronald Dancer (R) and Robert Clifton (R) for Assembly

• LD 13: Vincent Solomeno III (D) for Senate and Allison Friedman (D) and Erin Howard (D) for Assembly

• LD 14: Linda Greenstein (D) for Senate and Dan Benson (D) and Wayne DeAngelo (D) for Assembly

• LD 15: Shirley K. Turner (D) for Senate and Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D) and Anthony S. Verrelli (D) for Assembly

• LD 16: Andrew Zwicker (D) for Senate and Roy Freiman (D) and Sadaf Jaffer (D) for Assembly

• LD 17: Bob Smith (D) for Senate and Joseph V. Egan (D) and Joe Danielsen (D) for Assembly

• LD 18: Patrick J. Diegnan Jr. (D) for Senate and Robert J. Karabinchak (D) and Sterley S. Stanley (D) for Assembly

• LD 19: Joseph F. Vitale (D) for Senate and Craig J. Coughlin (D) and Yvonne Lopez (D) for Assembly

• LD 20: Joe Cryan (D) for Senate and Reginald Atkins (D) and Annette Quijano (D) for Assembly

• LD 21: Jon Bramnick (R) for Senate and Anjali Mehrotra (D) and Nancy Munoz (R) for Assembly

• LD 22: Nicholas Scutari (D) for Senate and Linda Carter (D) and James Kennedy (D) for Assembly

• LD 25: Anthony Bucco (R) for Senate and Aura Dunn (R) for Assembly

• LD 26: Christine Clarke (D) for Senate and Pamela Fadden (D) for Assembly

• LD 27: Richard J. Codey (D) for Senate and Mila M. Jasey (D) and John F. McKeon (D) for Assembly

• LD 28: Ronald Rice (D) for Senate and Cleopatra Tucker (D) and Ralph Caputo (D) for Assembly

• LD 30: Edward “Ned” Thomson (R) and Sean Kean (R) for Assembly

• LD 31: Sandra B. Cunningham (D) for Senate and William Sampson (D) for Assembly

• LD 32: Nicholas J. Sacco (D) for Senate and Angelica M. Jimenez (D) and Pedro Mejia (D) for Assembly

• LD 33: Annette Chaparro (D) and Raj Mukherji (D) for Assembly

• LD 34: Nia H. Gill (D) for Senate and Thomas P. Giblin (D) and Britnee N. Timberlake (D) for Assembly

• LD 35: Nellie Pou (D) for Senate and Shavonda E. Sumter (D) and Benjie E. Wimberly (D) for Assembly

• LD 36: Paul A. Sarlo (D) for Senate and Clinton Calabrese (D) and Gary S. Schaer (D) for Assembly

LD 37: Gordon M. Johnson (D) for Senate and Shama A. Hadier (D) and Ellen J. Park (D) for Assembly

• LD 38: Joseph A. Lagana (D) for Senate and Lisa Swain (D) and P. Christopher Tully (D) for Assembly

• LD 39: Ruth Dugan (D) for Senate and Karlito Almeda (D) and Melinda Iannuzzi (D) for Assembly.

• LD 40: Kristin Corrado (R) for Senate and Kevin Rooney (R) and Christopher DePhillips (R) for Assembly

No endorsements were made in legislative districts 8, 9, 23, 24, and 29. Senate endorsements were not made in districts 1, 12, 30, and 33. In districts 10, 25, 26, and 31 only one Assembly endorsement was made.

The October edition of the NJEA Review will feature an interview with Gov. Murphy and statements from each endorsed candidate.

Related Articles

Send this to a friend