Nomination applications and information guidelines for the 2020 NEA Human and Civil Rights Awards are now available at

Visit the website today to submit your 2020 application to nominate champions for social justice from your community. All Human and Civil Rights Awards nomination applications must be submitted online no later than Friday, December 6, 2019. To be considered, nominators must provide all required information and supporting materials, as explained in the guidelines outlined in the 2020 Human and Civil Rights Awards Nomination Brochure (also found on the website). Please be reminded that nominators must be an NEA member, affiliate or caucus.

You may nominate in one or more of the twelve award categories* listed below:

  • César Chávez Acción y Compromiso Human and Civil Rights Award
  • Ellison S. Onizuka Memorial Award
  • H. Councill Trenholm Memorial Award (Black)
  • George I. Sánchez Memorial Award
  • Leo Reano Memorial Award
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Award
  • Mary Hatwood Futrell Human and Civil Rights Award
  • Reg Weaver Human and Civil Rights Award
  • Rosa Parks Memorial Award
  • Rosena J. Willis Memorial Award (Local Affiliate Award)
  • SuAnne Big Crow Memorial Award
  • Virginia Uribe Memorial Award for Creative Leadership in Human Rights

*Read about the criteria for each award category and submit nominations at

Related Articles

Send this to a friend