Cathy Grano, a school nurse in Middletown Township, is the 2021 New Jersey School Nurse of the Year. For this prestigious acknowledgement, she will receive The National Association of School Nurses (NASN) 2021 Excellence in School Nursing Award this summer at NASN’s national conference. Grano was chosen for her extraordinary service to her school community and the New Jersey State School Nurses Association (NJSSNA). Even before COVID, Grano displayed admirable leadership skills, but her devotion to ensuring public health safety through educating the public about the pandemic has amplified her impact.

Cathy Grano

Grano is a creative problem solver with a keen sense of purpose and passion for school health. She has been an integral member of the NJSSNA Education Team and embraced her role with vigor. Grano understands the complexity of community engagement and has a welcoming demeanor coupled with self-motivation and pride in her work product. She is also a skilled presenter and has a unique ability to translate complex concepts for the benefit of the learner.

Grano is a seasoned school nurse and a Johnson & Johnson School Health Fellow. She is organized, resourceful, creative, and dedicated to children’s health. Grano implemented the Back Pack food program that provides nutritious, nonperishable, easy-to-prepare food to children to ensure they get enough food on weekends and holidays to avoid hunger. Grano is an exemplary school nurse, a powerful and impactful contributor to the health and well-being of the students, staff and families she serves.

New Jersey School Nurse of the Year (Excellence in School Nursing) award winners:

2021-Cathy Grano, MSN, RN, CSN-NJ

2020-Charlotte Nagele-Boles, BA, RN, CSN-NJ

2019-Lisa Lontai, MSN, RN, CSN-NJ

2018-Eileen Gavin, MSN, FNP-BC, NCSN

2016 Lillian Farrell,  RN, CSN-NJ, HN-BC

2014 Laurie Rufolo, RN, CSN-NJ

2010-Amy Billera 

2009-Sharon Garnier

2008-Heidi Toth

2007-Tommie Lou Judson

2006-Catherine Fernandez

2005-Marie Sasso

2004-Loretta Macconi

2003-Judy Kiernan

2002-Kathleen Maher

2001-Peggy Martone

2000-Karen Noland 

1999-Grace Lee

1998-Jean Wenger

1997-Jan Niesz

1996-Carol McGotty

1995-Janice Loschiavo

1994-Barbara Caruso

1993-Virginia Hundley

Related Articles

Send this to a friend