JCPPA honors Para-Professionals of the Year 

On May 27, the Jersey City Para-Professionals Association (JCPPA) honored the 2021-22 Para-Professionals of the Year in each of the school district’s building. Under the leadership of JCPPA President Keith Olkewicz, the association drew a wide range of guests, nationally, statewide and locally to congratulate the Jersey City’s paraprofessionals.  

NEA Secretary-Treasurer Noel Candelaria, NJEA Vice President Steve Beatty, NJEA Secretary-Treasurer Petal Robertson, JCPPA 2nd Vice President Jennifer Santana, Hudson County Education Association President Andrea Pastore, Educational Secretaries of Jersey City President Beverly Senior, Jersey City Board of Education President Gerald Lyons, and Assistant Superintendent Ellen Ruane each addressed attendees.  

NEA Secretary-Treasurer Noel Candelaria congratulates Jersey City’s paraprofessionals.

The 31 Jersey City Para-Professionals of the Year were selected by their colleagues through an election process administered by JCPPA. In addition, three
paraprofessionals received outstanding achievement awards: Salaam Shannon, a one-to-one paraprofessional, Lucy Ortiz, a bilingual educator, and Pam Lee Cahill, a paraprofessional  in grades pre-k to 4. 

The association also honored its friends and allies with the Angel to a Para Award: Joan Terrell-Paige, former school board member and community activist; the Jersey City Together Organization, led by Boris Franklin; Steven Campos, Hudson Partnership Care Management Organization Leader and community activist, and the Educational Secretaries Association, led by ESA President Beverly Senior. A special appreciation award was given to Dr. Gilbert Moore, JCBOE insurance manager and former first vice president of JCPPA.