Meet New Jersey’s 2023-24 County Teachers of the Year

NJEA is proud to join with students, school employees, parents and others in congratulating the following NJEA members who have been named 2023-24 New Jersey County Teachers of the Year.

“It is no wonder that New Jersey is number one in the nation when we have such quality educators, represented here by our County Teachers of the Year. They have chosen to serve in this most honorable profession: teaching our students. We congratulate all of this year’s County Teachers of the Year on this well-earned and well-deserved recognition. I am so proud,” said NJEA President Sean M. Spiller.

“What an achievement to be named one of our County Teachers of the Year, and one that recognizes not the accomplishments as a cumulative, but as a promise of continued dedication to a profession, that is as much a calling as a career. The passion involved in teaching our students is proof positive why New Jersey garners the distinction of number one schools in the nation,” said NJEA Vice President Steve Beatty.

“This incredible honor recognizes the work of our amazing educators and the impact they have on our students and communities. They are the face of public education, and they connect with our students full of love, care, compassion and courage,” said NJEA Secretary-Treasurer Petal Robertson.


Erin Sharpe is a science teacher  at Cedar Creek High School in the Greater Egg Harbor Regional High School District.


Gary Whitehead is an English language arts teacher at Tenafly High School, in the Tenafly School District.


Nicola Recla Fischer is a kindergarten teacher at Captain James Lawrence Elementary School in the Burlington City School District.


Ron Smith is an environmental science educator at Haddonfield Memorial High School in the Haddonfield School District.

Cape May

Alison Curvan is a third and fourth grade language arts and social studies teacher at the Stone Harbor Elementary School in the Avalon Stone Harbor School District.


Betsy Harrison is a music teacher at Cumberland Regional High School in the Cumberland Regional High School District.


Shamshadeen Mayers is a social science teacher at the Bloomfield High School in the Bloomfield School District.


Jennifer Donnelly is a high school science teacher at the José Marti STEM Academy in the Union City School District.


Gargi Adhikari is a special education teacher at Holland Brook School in the Readington Township School District.


Yulieth Le is a fourth grade teacher at Lawrence Intermediate School in the Lawrence Township School District.


Julie Mercier is an English language arts teacher at the North Brunswick Township High School in the North Brunswick Township School District.


Joe Nappi is a social studies teacher at Monmouth Regional High School in the Monmouth Regional School District.


Robin Meyh is a high school Health and Physical Education teacher at Mendham High School in the West Morris Regional School District.


Jaclyn Potochar is an English language arts and science teacher at Lake Riviera Middle School in Brick Township School District.


Amanda Rhodes is a fifth grade teacher at Clifton School 11 in the Clifton School District.


Andrea Wendell is a science teacher at Pittsgrove Township Middle School in the Pittsgrove Township School District.


Corinne Laurie is a health and physical education teacher at North Plainfield Middle School in the North Plainfield School District.


Tara Scrittore is a kindergarten teacher at the Hamburg School in the Hamburg School District.


Kristen Hickman is a STEAM teacher at Roselle Park Middle School in the Roselle Park School District.


Colleen Grzywacz is a vocal music teacher at Hackettstown Middle School in the Hackettstown School District.