NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence honors Christine Girtain

2022-23 NJ State Teacher of the Year Christine Girtain has been named one of the 43 recipients of the 2024 NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence.

Girtain, a science teacher and the director of Authentic Science Research at both Toms River High School South and North, was among the educators being recognized for their leadership, excellence in the classroom, family and community engagement, a commitment to equity and diversity, and advocacy for the teaching profession.

Read more about Girtain and her selection as the 2022-23 NJ State Teacher of the Year.

The 2024 recipients of the NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence, selected by their NEA affiliates, represent educators from across the country who embody excellence in their practice, advocacy for the profession, commitment to equity and opportunity, community engagement, and leadership in professional development.

“These extraordinary awardees remind us that educators are the backbone of our communities and our democracy,” says Sara A. Sneed, president and CEO of The NEA Foundation. “At a time when educators and public education are under attack, these educators have been at the forefront of ensuring access to a high quality education for all students. Building a bright future for America’s children requires that we all do our part to support educators and racial justice in public education.”

Over the past two decades, The NEA Foundation has honored hundreds of exemplary educators in every state and those serving students in American public schools around the world with the Awards for Teaching Excellence. The 2024 educator awardees will be honored at the NEA Foundation Salute to Excellence in Education on May 3, 2024, at The Anthem in Washington, DC.

Five of the awardees nominated by National Education Association’s state affiliates will be chosen as finalists for the top national award and receive $10,000. The educator selected for the top honor will be revealed at the NEA Foundation Salute to Excellence in Education and receive $25,000. The Salute to Excellence in Education will also be live-streamed.

Find more information about the Awards for Teaching Excellence here and explore a gallery of this year’s awardees.