DA elects three NEA Directors 

At its March 9 meeting, the NJEA Delegate Assembly elected three members to represent New Jersey on the NEA Board of Directors. Barbara Rheault of Atlantic County and Laurie Gibson-Parker of Camden County were reelected, and Kayla Khaled of Union County was elected to her first term. They will each serve a three-year term beginning Sept. 1.  

The NEA Board of Directors is responsible for setting general policies between annual NEA Representative Assembly (NEA RA) meetings. It consists of at least one director from each state affiliate, at-large directors to meet representational guarantees, and representatives for students and retired members. Each state is entitled to an additional director per 20,000 active and life members. 

From left: Kayla Khaled, Laurie Gibson-Parker and Barbara Rheault were each elected to a three-year term on the NEA Board of Directors. 

Based on its membership, NJEA is entitled to nine NEA State Directors. The current directors are Brenda Brathwaite of Atlantic County, Theresa Fuller of Somerset County, Laurie Gibson-Parker of Camden County, Robert La Morte and Susan McBride of Bergen County, Peter Moran of Hunterdon County, Mark Richards of Essex County, Barbara Rheault of Atlantic County, and Stacy Yanko of Sussex County.  

In addition, the NEA Board of Directors has at-large positions to ensure representation from educational support professionals (ESPs). These members are elected to three-year terms at the NEA RA. Two of these 19 nationally elected NEA Directors are NJEA members Temika Langston-Myers of Cumberland County and Tarsha Lawson of Essex County.